Best Thoughts

I think sometimes the hostess stamp sets at the back of the catalog get overlooked, and that’s a shame. I like all the sets in this year’s annual catalog, but Best Thoughts is at the top of my list. The hydrangea lends itself to several fun coloring techniques. For my card, I used blender pens with Stampin’ Write markers on the Shimmery White paper. This is the first time I’ve used this paper, but it’s lovely. It’s got a slight shimmer to it and it holds up to water brushes and blender pens better than regular Whisper White paper.

Thoughts1
 

I embossed the flower with white embossing powder and colored the flowers with Pink Pirouette, Blushing Bride and a touch of Melon Mambo in the flower centers. Here’s a closer look.

 
ThoughtsCloseUp
 

I was going for a water colored look, which doesn’t need to look perfect. It’s ok to go outside the lines and leave unpainted spaces – much less stressful that way. Of course, I’m my own harshest critic, and at first I wasn’t sure I liked how it looked. But I set it aside for awhile and now I’m really liking it.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment