Beautiful You!

Happy New Year! It’s been awhile since I last posted. I’m hoping to do better in 2017.

beautifulyou1sm

I’m kicking the year off with a post about one of my favorite stamp sets from the new Occasions catalog – Beautiful You! This set is especially great for water coloring using the new water color pencils (also in the catalog). But in our class tonight, we did a different kind of “water coloring”.

We used one of the larger acrylic blocks and applied three colors of ink to it.Using a Stampin’ Up spritzer, we sprtized the block 5-6 times and waited a minute for the colors to blend. Then we “stamped” water color paper with the acrylic block.

I love this technique. It’s not new – it’s bounced around on different blogs and Youtube for several years. However, I could never quite get it to look good. But I love the look and decided to play with it until I got it right. I watched several videos and experimented until I got it looking like I wanted. Here are some things that worked for me:

  • Use water color paper or Shimmery White card stock. These stand up to water better than regular cardstock. And you’re going to use a lot of water.
  • I found that using the new foam ink pads worked better than the old linen pads. I also read you can use the Stampin’ Write markers, but that didn’t work out well for me.
  • In addition to spritzing the block after inking it up, I also spritzed the paper. This helped to move and blend the colors.
  • I placed the paper on top of the Stampin’ Up paper piercing foam sheet for a little more give.
  • Take time to press the block firmly on the paper, moving your finger over the block in order to get all the colors transferred to the paper.

Here’s a closer look at the green card. We used Bermuda Bay, Marina Mist and Wild Wisabi. I thought the image was a little light so I took a chance and re-stamped it. I was a little off, but I kind of like it – it adds to the blurry look of the card.

brighterbermudabaysm

We also made this version with Crushed Curry, Tangerine Tango and Sweet Sugarplum. This was the first card I made and the colors didn’t blend quite as much as the green card. I really like these colors together, though.

brightersugarplumsm

The fun thing about this technique is that no too backgrounds end up the same. Which is your favorite?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

