Stamp Review Crew – Gorgeous Grunge

SRC-Gorgeous-Grunge-bannerWelcome to the Stamp Review Crew blog hop. This week we’re featuring Gorgeous Grunge and once again I am the last stop on the hop. But if you missed any of the blogs getting here, you can click on any of the inks below.

I am still working on figuring out what my “style” is, but after this challenge I think I can safely say it’s not Grunge. But challenges are all about getting outside your comfort zone and trying new things. Don’t get me wrong – I love grunge. Some people do it so well, as you’ve already seen on this blog hop.

I’d been racking my brain thinking about this challenge for awhile to figure out what I wanted to do.  I love the spots and blobs in this set for giving a card an aged look, but I was having trouble coming up with a focal point. Then when I was cleaning out my studio, I found a handful of Orange Crush pop tops. I don’t remember why I saved these. I may have had something really cool in mind to do. Or it could be my son just dumped his trash in my room (it’s been known to happen), but I thought they might look cool on a card. They didn’t go through my Big Shot quite like I thought they would, but that just adds to the grunge look. So here is my “I’ve got an (orange) crush on you” card.

IguanaStamp! Crush on You with Stampin' Up's Gorgeous Grunge

The colors on the pop top were very close to Pumpkin Pie and Gumball Green, so I started with these colors. I added the wings from Great Sport using Basic Gray. I kind of like it. But it also kind of looks like I spilled Orange Crush on my card. Maybe that’s the point. 🙂 What do you think?

Use the buttons below to move forward or back through the hop. Thanks for stopping by!

SRC-Gorgeous-Grunge-prev
SRC-Gorgeous-Grunge-next

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Stamp Review Crew – Gorgeous Grunge

  1. Beth Beard says:

    I think you do grunge very well and I love the idea of the bottle cap in the center! Your post made me chuckle…my son dumps his trash in my stamping room too = )

  2. Shana Gaff says:

    Love the bottle cap center! Gorgeous Grunge works very nicely with the Great Sport stamp set! Another stamp set I NEED now. lol sigh!

  3. Dawn Tidd says:

    The pop top is perfect, what great inspiration! I love your grunge card.

  4. Betty Traciak says:

    This could be the next Orange Crush advertisement! Love the happy feel of this!!

  5. Mike says:

    Great job in the use of color! That speckled stamp is the best for backgrounds!

  6. Tanya Boser says:

    Well, you did a fine imitation of someone who does grunge well, lol! That pop top is perfect too!

  7. martha says:

    Great card. Loved your inspiration story…the trash, my son…made me laugh. You created a great “gunge” card!!

  8. Heidi Baks says:

    Your card really makes me smile. Orange is suppose to be the ultimate happy color, and of course, the card message is clear. I haven’t had an orange crush in forever, which gives it so much more of a retro feel. Great!

  9. your card is so colorful & looks like it’s still wet, from the orange splatters; it’s very real looking, in deed; TFS

  10. Lisa Young says:

    What a great idea to center your card around the bottle top! Love the concept and the sentiment and the card 🙂

  11. Paula Wright says:

    So clever to use the bottle cap on this card. For not feeling it, you did a great job!

  12. Debra Burgin says:

    I agree with you about not feeling comfortable with grunge, but I think your card is just terrific. A winged bottle cap? You rock!

  13. Cindy Beach says:

    Your card makes me smile. Great job!

  14. Deb says:

    This is fantastic! What a great way to use the pop top and the grunge set! Love it!

  15. Jill Coleman says:

    What a fun and funky card Nancy. The splatter image is perfect for looking like spilled “pop”.

  16. Adriana says:

    Fun card! Love the way you used the set and the pop cap in the middle of the Great Sport image. So nice to see cards you can give to a male!

  17. Rita says:

    You’d never know you weren’t comfortable with grunge! This is fabulous!

  18. Hi there to all, for the reason that I am in faqct eager
    of reading this weblog’s post to be updated daily.
    It includes pleasant data.

Leave a comment