Stamp Review Crew – Happy Scenes

SRC-Happy-Scenes-banner

Hello and welcome. It’s the first Monday of the month (or will be shortly) and time for another edition of the Stamp Review Crew Blog Hop. On the first and third Monday of each month our group of international Stampin’ Up demonstrators bring you our take on a specific stamp set in the catalog.

This week we’re showing ways to use the Happy Scenes stamp set. This set has a coordinating window framelit and makes adorable cards – like looking at scenes through a window. However, being a member of this team is teaching me to “think outside the box”. The enormously talented members of our team are always coming up with unique ideas for the stamp sets we feature. So I decided to skip the framelit and make a shaker card.

HappyScenes1
 
I used card sketch #264 from the Paper Players Challenge. I paired the image with some paper from the gorgeous Into the Woods designer paper. The “fluff” inside the shaker card is Flower Soft. Now there are several ways to make your own version of this embellishment, including using your grater to grate our card stock. This is a great way to do it because you know it will match your inks and papers. However, I have had this jar for years and it’s still almost full. I did a major purge earlier this year, so now I’m trying to use up whatever’s left.
 
HappyScenes3
 

Here is a close up of the image inside the shaker. It’s a little hard to get a picture without glare.

HappyScenes4
 
I hope you like my card. Now it’s time to see what great ideas Dawn has for us.
 
SRC-Happy-Scenes-prevSRC-Happy-Scenes-next
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stamp Review Crew – Happy Scenes

  1. Yapha says:

    What a fun shaker card! Great use of this stamp set!

  2. Shaker cards are so cool! Fun card!

  3. Dawn Tidd says:

    Great shaker card, Nancy! The DSP makes the perfect background and the fluff looks great…like leaves!

  4. Heidi Baks says:

    What a fun shaker card with the Flower Soft! Great idea.

  5. Sue Plote says:

    How fun is this?!? We had a windy fall day here this weekend…and this card is exactly what it looked like. Love the colors…the coloring…and the shaker. Everything is just great!

  6. Nancy this is awesome!! I love how you added the paper for the shaker. Very cool and pretty!

  7. Kathy Bolam says:

    What a great idea to grate cardstock! I sometimes find sequins to be a little too shiny for some shaker cards. Beautiful card!

  8. Nikki Spencer says:

    Nancy, your gorgeous Autumn scene is awesome, so realistic! Love that you’ve used Flower Soft vs sequins/glitter etc. Thanks for the tip on grating…Now that is a cool idea..:0)xx

  9. Betty Traciak says:

    Wonderful! Love energy of the DSP pattern combined with the shaker!

  10. addinktivedesigns says:

    Flower Soft in the shaker bit – totally awesome! Love your Autumn scene.

  11. Lisa Young says:

    Genius! Love the overall design of your card and the way you created the shaker.

  12. Gloria Sperring says:

    Thank you so much for the Flower Soft answer. I can’t afford to buy it and didn’t know if I could match our colors. How would suggest I make snow? I’ve thought of SU’s glitter or embossing powder. I can come up with good ideas once in a while but can’t think of snow. I live in Fl. I don’t see snow.

  13. WOW – I’m learning so many new things in the hop today. Grating cardstock. Awesome. Going to try it! TFS

Leave a comment