Fun with the Butterfly Framelits

My stash of all-occasion cards has gotten pretty low. I needed to build it back up, ideally using a single design that was easy to replicate and vary a bit, based on the occasion or card need. A quick and easy card design was what I was looking for. An added bonus would be one that helped me use up my hoarded stash supply of retired designer paper. As I was perusing Pinterest (one of my favorite pastimes), I came across this card by Chiaki Haverstick.

Perfect – I can use the butterfly framelits from the Occasions catalog and a variety of sentiments. The bonus is each card takes a 5 x 3 5/8 inch piece of designer paper. Colorful papers with small patterns work the best. I used a sheet from the Beyond the Garden dsp for this card.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Butterfly Thinlits
Here’s a view from the side. You can see how I also stamped the inside of the card. This butterfly stamp is from the Perpetual Birthday Calendar set.
Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Butterfly Thilits
I was able to use a sheet from the International Bazaar dsp and make additional cards. I used sentiments from various sets to come up with 6 cards all together, in less than an hour. I had a very productive morning.
Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Butterfly Thinlits
One thing to note, because of the intricacies of the butterfly thinlits, you end up with lots of little bits of paper. Here in Florida, we call them hanging chads. 😉
ButterfliesChads
This is one of the cards we’ll be making this Saturday at the Spring Stamp-A-Stack. There’s still room for one more if you want to join us. 🙂
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment