Stamp Review Crew – Watercolor Wings

SRC-Watercolor-Wings-banner

Welcome back to another edition of the Stamp Review Crew. You may have noticed I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus. It all began when my laptop finally bit the dust. My sons had been keeping it alive for me for the past few years, but it finally passed the point of no return. Then we had a family vacation followed by a couple of trips transporting my son to camp and visiting him at the half-way mark. All while a major re-org was going on at work. I don’t know why I always think things will slow down during the summer and I’ll get a lot done. Never happens.

But I’m back with a new laptop and a bit of free time and SO happy to be a part of this week’s hop. I love that there are two different sets of butterfly framelits in the catalog that coordinate with stamp sets and with each other. And the Watercolor Wings stamp set is gorgeous! I plan to get a lot of use out of this set.

There are so many ways you can go with these butterflies – I’ve seen some beautiful color combinations. I was trying to recreate the butterflies I chased as a child. Besides the orange and black Monarchs, I remember vivid blue and black butterflies. I used Marina Mist and Night of Navy along with Momento Black to make my butterfly.

WatercolorWings

 

I love the little “bokeh” dots in the set, as well as this sweet sentiment. On a sad note, while I was writing this blog post, my cat jumped up on the counter (something she’s not supposed to do). I leapt out of my chair, setting my laptop on the coffee table and knocking over my glass of iced tea in the process. My poor card was splashed. SO glad I had already taken a picture of it! The card base and part of the Marina Mist background was soaked, but not to worry – the image panel and the butterfly are fine. I will repurpose on another card, luckily for my cat.

Back to the hop – you can go on to Jessica’s blog to see what lovely things she has created, or if you missed it, hop backwards to Deb’s blog. I always love to see what creative ideas she comes up with.

Thanks for stopping by. I’d love to hear what you think of my card.

 

SRC-Watercolor-Wings-prevΒ Β  SRC-Watercolor-Wings-next
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Stamp Review Crew – Watercolor Wings

  1. Dawn Tidd says:

    Sorry about the accident with the card! It’s a really pretty card and I know just what butterflies you’re describing! The bokeh dots look terrific in the background.

  2. jentimko says:

    Such a naughty kitty….. Glad that some of this beauty could be saved. I love the variations on the colorful dots in the background. Such a lovely detail.

  3. Beautiful card Nancy! The blue and black butterfly is beautiful and I love the ‘bokeh’ dots in the background! Rochelle xo

  4. Tanya Boser says:

    Lovely card to go with the childhood memories πŸ™‚ Great colors and layout!
    And I remember when I killed a laptop with the tea with milk and sugar I was actively drinking were knocked onto the computer when the dog bolted out from under the desk and tangled in the power cord,lol! Happy to hear you are back in the blogging game πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: The Stamp Review Crew features Watercolor Wings | thepapercaper

  6. This is just lovely. Love those beautiful little spots in shades of blue too. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Nikki Spencer says:

    Oh no!…I would have been so sad to see this beauty ruined. Love the clean lines and cute bokeh dot background…A lovely CAS style!

  8. Very pretty card nancy! Sorry though it got ruined but yeah for having the picture done! Welcome back too!

  9. Ann Schach says:

    Beautiful, Nancy! I love the bokeh effect. As the mother of 5 Boxer dogs, I know all about card mishaps! I’m glad you were able to save the image panel.

  10. Mike says:

    This is beautiful in its simplicity, Nancy. And if all else fails, you can always try the tea stained effect! πŸ˜‰

  11. addinktivedesigns says:

    So glad you got the photo in before the kitty pounced. Such a gorgeous card to share.

  12. Betty Traciak says:

    Glad to see you back Nancy! Those kitties do make crafting an adventure don’t they?

  13. Heidi Baks says:

    Phew, so glad we got to see the card before the iced tea accident! Very, very pretty!!

  14. Lisa Young says:

    I love the color combination you used which is very reminiscent of those beautiful butterflies! The background of dots is my favorite part – I think that is such a creative idea!

Leave a comment