Stamp Review Crew – Festival of Trees

SRC-Festival-of-Trees-banne
 
Welcome once again to another edition of the Stamp Review Crew. We are an international group of Stampin’ Up demonstrators who blog twice a month using a specific stamp set to give you lots of great ideas on ways to use it. This week we’re featuring the Festival of Trees set and matching punch. You can find this set in the annual catalog in the Holiday section.
 
My first card is one we made during my Christmas in July class. I don’t believe I’ve posted it before, so here it is:
 
festivalTrees2
 
It’s based off one of the sketch challenges, but it’s been so long since we made them, I don’t remember which one. I used the silver thread behind the tree. I’m still working on the “messy” thread look. Some people just ball it up and throw it on there and it looks like it was meant to be that way. Mine’s not quite there yet.
 
This second one was also based off a sketch – this one is #152 from Case this Sketch. Both of today’s cards use the tree sheet from the Merry Moments dsp. I think it goes so well with the stamp and punch.
 
For this second card, I only used the punch to punch out a tree from the corrugated paper. I just love this stuff! It adds kind of a rustic touch to your cards. In retrospect I should have punched the tree first and then cut out the circle. It’s a little difficult to line up correctly when you do it the other way around.
 
festivalTrees1
 
The sentiment is from the Oh What Fun set. “A Merry Christmas” is on the inside.
 
Next up is Rochelle’s blog. I can’t wait to see what awesome projects she has in store for us. Or you can go backwards through the hop to Dawn’s blog.
 
Hope you like my projects – thanks for visiting!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stamp Review Crew – Festival of Trees

  1. Betty Traciak says:

    Sweet little cards! I totally agree with you on the messy thread. I can never get mine to cooperate 🙂

  2. Dawn Tidd says:

    I love that DSP with the stamps! The corrugated paper is perfect with the punched tree too. Cute!

  3. Two fantastic cards Nancy. Love the mix of the tree DSP with the stamp set and the tree punched out of the corrugated cardstock is awesome! Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year. Rochelle xo

  4. Heidi Baks says:

    I love the negative image tree – it adds some much interest to the card!

  5. I have the same challenge with the casual, loopy Metallic Thread — I’m more of a ruler girl, myself! The circle from Corrugated Paper is excellent for the negative tree. Really nice cards!

  6. Tanya Boser says:

    Lovely cards! I adore the rustic look 🙂

  7. Gorgeous cards! That DSP suits this stamp set so well! The second is my favourite thogh – I’m such a fan of the corrugated card.

  8. Bronwyn says:

    Both cards are super cute. I think you may have convinced me that I need that corrugated card in my stash!

Leave a Reply

