Throwback Thursday – Summer by the Sea

Iguanastamp! Throwback Thursday

I am in the midst of a purge. I need to clear out my craft room – it’s overflowing with all kinds of wonderful stamps, inks, papers and embellishments. It truly is an embarrassment of riches. But it also makes it hard to be creative. So I’m selling on ebay, on my blog, and even at the craft yard sale we’re having in a couple of weeks.

But there are a few stamps that I’m hanging on to. I absolutely love them and can’t bear to part with them. The thing is, with classes and the blog, I focus all my creative energies on items in the current catalogs. My beloved stamps sit in a corner, gathering dust.

Enter Throwback Thursday – my take on the Facebook meme. Instead of showing you pictures of me (maybe not a bad idea – I was younger and a lot thinner. 😉 ), I’ll be showing cards made with retired stamp sets.

One of the first sets I ever bought and still one of my favorites is the watercolor set Summer by the Sea. There are 4 great images for watercoloring, along with 2 sayings. I chose the woman in a boat to try the reflection technique.

I first saw the reflection technique on a card by the great Michelle Zindorf. She is a wizard with brayers and coloring images. To get the reflection, I stamped the image on the plastic sheet that goes with the Stamp-a-ma-jig and then turned it over and pressed it down on the card stock. Next I stamped it right side up above the first image.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Summer by the Sea

I also used some retired ribbon – Pear Pizazz seam binding. I don’t think it’s in the current catalog, but now that this color is back, I think it should be. Love this stuff!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

