What I’ve Been Up To

I just got back from Orlando where I attended the very last ever Stampin’ Up Leadership conference. I had such a great time – I learned a lot and met some wonderful demonstrators from all over, including several I had been wanting to meet from the SplitcoastStampers website.

Part of the fun of any Stampin’ Up event is the swapping. There are general floor swaps and organized swaps. I participated in one organized by Lyssa Zwolanek called Convention Quality Swaps (CQS for short). Organized swaps usually have rules and/or a theme. The CQS swap requires our best work – more than one layer and at least one embellishment.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Big Day stamp set

I bought the Calypso pom pom trim from the Occasions catalog specifically for the swap and I let it guide my design. I also wanted to use the new chalkboard paper which looks so good stamped with the sentiment from the Big Day stamp set – a freebie from the Sale-A-Bration catalog (the cake is from Sketched Birthday).
 

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Big Day

The pom pom trim is very similar in color to the new Rose Coral chalk ink pad and inspired my color choices – Aquamarine (similar to Coastal Cabana), Yellow Citrus (similar to Crushed Curry) and Rose Coral – all in the new chalk inks. I knew my color choice was a good one when I got to the conference and saw all the signage in those colors.
 

A few rhinestones colored with Blendabilities for a little extra bling and the card was done. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I’ve Been Up To

  1. Carol says:

    This is a great card Nancy. I like hearing about the Leadership conference. What did you mean it is the “very last ever” Leadership conference? Does that mean they will not have more? I look forward to seeing for the Cards & Coffee. Thanks!

    • smithr66 says:

      Hi Carol – great to hear from you and looking forward to seeing you at class.

      I guess I should have explained a bit more. Leadership is a yearly conference for supervisors and above, although some years like this year, they open it up to all demonstrators. Stampin’ Up is now a world-wide company and they are trying make their events more accessible to all the demonstrators. They are going to two big events a year to be held in one of three places – North America, Europe and the South Pacific. They will also have smaller, live events closer to home. I’m happy to say the ones in the US include Tampa, which means I will be able to attend them. Yay!

Leave a Reply

