Gentle Peace – Gold Version

I love the stained glass image from the Gentle Peace stamp set and have been experimenting with different ways to use it. I have some left over fragments of gold and copper leaf from some project I did ages ago. I don’t even remember what it was, that’s how long I’ve had it. In the spirit of using up my stash, I decided to try using the fragments on a card.

I stamped the image in black on a clear window sheet and then I put a thin layer of glue on the back side and added the fragments to the back. I’m not going to lie – I think I had more gold leafing stuck to me than to the image, but I finally got the entire piece covered. But the lines didn’t show up well when I flipped it back over. So I inked up the image with Versamark and carefully stamped the image again. Then I used black embossing powder and hit it with a heat gun.

It is so hard to take a picture of this and do justice to the beautiful colors.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Gentle Peace

I really liked how it turned out, but the problem became what color card base to put it on. I tried gold, Cherry Cobbler, Night of Navy and Black, but none of them really looked right. The image was kind of flat. So I put it away for awhile and moved on to other projects.

Then one day I was shopping and saw this Christmas gift bag (not a great picture – a lady wanted the bag and I had to quickly grab a picture from the side).

GoldBag

I had a “light bulb” moment. The dots made me think of the Dotty Angles background stamp. I couldn’t wait to get home and emboss it in gold on black cardstock. Here is the final card. I think the gold dots look a little like candle flames like you might see in a dark church. It gives the card depth and really finishes it off.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Gentle Peace

Here is a view from the side:

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Gentle Peace
I probably won’t be making more – gluing the gold flakes down was kind of a pain. But I do think it makes a really lovely card. And I love that I got inspiration from a gift bag a couple of weeks after I created the original image. I think when you have a problem you’re trying to solve, your brain keeps working on it, even when you don’t realize it.
 
What unusual things have inspired your card making?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gentle Peace – Gold Version

  1. Geraldine Quesenberry says:

    nancy, that is the most beautiful card i have ever seen. you are right, everyone needs to see it firsthand. it is just remarkable the way you put everything together. talent abounds within you. merry chistmas.

Leave a Reply

