Ornamental Pine

I’m continuing in my quest to come up with a variety of cards and tags from each of the stamp sets I bought from the holiday catalog. Today I’m focusing on Ornamental Pine. This set was one that I liked, but wasn’t on my wish list. That is, not until I saw the card that Billie Moan (Rambling Rose Studio) did with the set. Sometimes when you see something this gorgeous, you just do your best to recreate it. I immediately bought the stamp set and now here is my version:

Iganastamp! Stampin' Up Ornamental Pine cased from Billie Moan

I’m not sure this picture does it justice. The image was embossed on brushed silver card stock with white embossing powder. I used Gorgeous Grunge for the snow. The pinecones were stamped on a separate piece of silver and popped up on the branches. The great thing about embossing is that you can color on it with your Blendabilities. This card goes together relatively quickly, but I think it looks so beautiful.

With the last set of cards, I used sketch challenges to come up with my cards, but this time since there are so many gorgeous cards made with this stamp set, I continued my CAS(E)ing. Next up is a beautiful card created by Cynthia Millan, a Stampin’ Up demonstrator in Canada. She did this card for the Founders Circle, a retreat of the top US and Canadian demonstrators. If you’re going to swap with the cream of the crop, you want to have a knockout card, and hers is just amazing.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up case of Cynthia Millan

It’s a hard card to photograph because of the glitter, but in person, it’s very pretty. Hers is sponged a little darker around the corners, and I like hers better. Our local LSS was giving away old books to use in art projects and I ended up with a botanical one. There is a chapter on Seed pods, cones and nuts – serendipitous! I got the sponging a little too dark this time, but I have several more pages from that chapter. I think it would be pretty on a 6×6 canvas for a nice little Christmas decoration. Stay tuned. 😉

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Ornamental Pine

This last one is a little hard to attribute to the original creator. There are many versions on Pinterest. It uses the double-time stamping method, a technique I used on this card. I grunged it up a bit with Gorgeous Grunge, but it looks just as pretty without.

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Ornamental Pine
I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface with this stamp set. Imagine it embossed in silver on dark blue card stock. Or in whites and blues on Soft Sky. Have you looked on Pinterest – what’s your favorite example made with this set?
O, and be sure to check out Billie’s and Cynthia’s blogs. Their work is just amazing and will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ornamental Pine

  1. Dawn says:

    The more I see what can be done with this stamp, the more I want it. Thanks for helping to feed the addiction!

  2. stampwithbev says:

    Love the many versions of pinecones you’ve shared. Always so Christmasy. I will have to give the colouring over white embossed elements with blendies a try — looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

