Experimenting with Mixed Media

Every Friday, Splitcoaststampers has a Mixed Media challenge. I love the work I see displayed there, but I have yet to try my hand at it. Until this weekend. The current challenge is to incorporate signs of fall. Well, I’m a sucker for pumpkins and I’ve seen some really cute pumpkin canvas ideas on Pinterest, so I thought I would give it a try.

The definition of mixed media is the use of two or more artistic media, such as ink and pastel or paint and collage combined into a single composition. Well I started to play and ended up pulling out just about everything but the kitchen sink. I used ink and stamps, gelatos, designer paper, filter paper, stencils, embossing folders,Ā charcoal and something that may have been twinkling H2Os, but it had no label so I’m not really sure. I used it like water colors, but it had a metallic shine to the colors.

Iguanastamp! Mixed Media Pumpkin

 

I’m really happy with the way it turned out and had so much fun making it that I will definitely be doing more of these!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Experimenting with Mixed Media

  1. Jeff says:

    Really nice, Nancy! Collage type cards are fun..we have been doing some..it’s fun to just let go and try whatever looks right..

Leave a Reply

