Saturday’s Class

We made three cards at the Cards for Guys class this past Saturday. The one I’m posting today was probably everyone’s favorite. We used my favorite technique – sponging. We have sponged in class before to fill in negative spaces like those created from a die or punch, but this weekend we used it to create a scene.

Serene Silhouettes is the perfect stamp set for this technique. We used the trees, but the birds in the branch and the flowers (dandelions?) would also work well. I like just sponging a slice of the paper. Usually I will mask off and sponge right on the card itself, but this time I wanted the small black border on either side of the image, so we sponged on a separate sheet of paper. I think this made people a little braver about doing the sponging. I was originally going to use oranges and reds for a sunset (similar to this card), but I was inspired by this card on the Splitcoast site.

This was such a fun card to do and everyone had their own variations. Here’s mine:

sponging

If you’re in South Florida and would like to come to one of my classes, shoot me an email and I’ll let you know of my upcoming classes. You can also check the calendar on my Stampin’ Up site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday’s Class

  1. Jeff says:

    Speaking as the token “guy” at the class….it was fun and the pictured card was definitely my favorite! Great choice of cards last weekend, Nancy!

  2. Carolyn says:

    I love this card and this technique.. . makes me feel like a resl artist!
    I’ve made several using different sentiments, nice to have on hand.

Leave a Reply

