Birthday Card for My Daughter-in-Law

We had a wonderful time Monday night with my son and daughter-in-law celebrating her birthday. They introduced us to a sushi restaurant in Coconut Creek and I tried my first sushi. It was good, but I still have trouble getting over the idea that I’m eating raw fish. I think it was a piece of salmon over rice. While I wouldn’t go out of my way to find to a sushi restaurant, I would probably try it again.

I brought a cake that I made – a devils food chocolate with buttercream frosting. I made dark chocolate ganache and covered the top of the cake with it. Then I topped it all with fresh strawberries and drizzled with more of the ganache. It was a very pretty cake, but very rich. I will definitely make this again! 🙂

Here is the card we gave her. I made this for a Creative Crew challenge to make a birthday card with green in it in honor of St. Patrick’s Day. Click on the link to see some really awesome cards. This one uses my new favorite designer series paper – Watercolor Wonder. Taking a cue from the pansies on the paper, I used the pansy punch to make matching pansies to put on the card. The flowers are spritzed with shimmer spray and sponged with ink and topped off with a rhinestone. I love these pansies and will probably be making a lot more. What do you think?

Iguanastamp! Stampin' Up Another Great Year stamp set and pansy punch

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Card for My Daughter-in-Law

  1. geraldine quesenberry says:

    i love both the tent card and the pansy card. i am glad you showcased the watercolor wonder paper. you really showed it to its best. guess that will be in my next order! lol

Leave a Reply

