Working With Card Sketches

Saturday’s class is all about working with card sketches.  I love picking stamps and papers, inks and embellishments, but sometimes I just can’t figure out how to pull it all together.  But if I use a sketch from one of the many card sketch challenge sites, the “hard” work is done for me. I always check out the Wednesday sketch challenge at Splitcoast, but there are many other good ones out there.  For clean and simple (CAS) cards, I really like the Fall To Layouts at Clean & Simple StampingMojo Monday is another good site.

CardSketchSometimes I create a sketch from a card with a layout I really like.  I came across this card by Janette Olen. I don’t know if she used a card sketch, but I have seen many cards with similar layouts. So I created my own card sketch (at left) and then using designer paper from Patio Party and the Make A Cake stamp set, I created the card below:

Stampin' Up! Make a CakeOnce you start using card sketches, you’ll become a much more prolific card maker. Come to Saturday’s class and see for yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working With Card Sketches

  1. Meg says:

    Cute card! I love that you shared the process of how you arrived at the final project. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

