My Red Lobster Swap Card

CQS1

Actually, this is my first ever swap card. I designed it for the Convention Quality Swap hosteted by Lyssa Zwolanek at the Stampin’ Up! Leadership Conference last week.

I showed the card to my daughter, who said it looked like something Red Lobster should send out to their customers. According to her It looks like the Red Lobster lobster. And it really does except it’s blue instead of red.

The funny thing is, I was going for a Cape Cod or Nantucket feel. That’s what this stamp set reminds me of. The red chevron paper is from the Parker’s Patterns designer series paper. Both the stamps and paper are from the new Stampin’ Up spring catalog. I have a hard time mixing patterned paper though, and everything I put with the chevron seemed to busy. So I ended up creating my own “designer” paper by stamping multiple rows of the fish in alternating colors.

I got some really great cards in the swap, which I’ll post soon, but I really stressed over mine. I do like how it turned out although in retrospect it was a very complex card to make. I knew I wanted to use the new canvas paper and I saw a technique for the ombré effect which went really well with my “beachy” theme. And the knot was a cool technique I saw on a card in the catalog. Nothing about the card was difficult, but there were just too many steps for a mass-produced card.

So that’s the story behind this card. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Red Lobster Swap Card

  1. MH says:

    I really like this card. Want to learn the techniques used. Thanks for sharing.

    • smithr66 says:

      Hi MH – There are several techniques on this card. The fish paper is actually the fish stamp from the same stamp set. I did alternating rows in the lighter and darker shades of blue and the darker fish were stamped upside down.

      The knot was actually a separate piece of ribbon that I twisted and turned to get looking the way I liked and then hot glued onto the card.

      The ombre dye technique is what I used for the lobster image. I used a piece of Stampin’ Up canvas “paper” and dipped it first in a container of water with one drop of blue reinker. Then I dipped it into a second container with 3-4 drops of reinker and water, but only about 2/3’s of the way. Finally I dipped it into a container with 5-7 drops of reinker and water, but only about a third of the way up. I moved the canvas around a bit in each of the containers so I didn’t get a straight line where the colors got darker. I wanted it to be a more blended e ffect. I hope that makes sense. You can probably Google “Ombre Dye” and get some tutorials on it.

      -Nancy

Leave a Reply

